Westpac Scholars will create a better future for all Australians.

We will help achieve this by investing in and uniting outstanding people from all walks of life with ambition, ideas and drive to help Australia prosper and grow. Forever.



We've centred our scholarships around three focus areas we believe are at the heart of Australia's future growth and prosperity, and central to our own focus as an organisation:


Digitisation is changing almost every element of everyday life. We want Australia to stay at the forefront of this revolution.


Australia is uniquely positioned to share in the rapid rise of Asia, with our deep cultural, political and economic relationships. We want to strengthen these bonds.


Social entrepreneurship is fast becoming a distinctive part of the nation's social, economic and political fabric. We want Australia to keep drawing strength from this phenomenon.

100 scholarships every year. Forever.

In 2017, Westpac celebrated its 200th anniversary not by looking back, but by looking forward. They created a unique $100 million scholarship fund exclusively to benefit a new generation of brilliant young Australians to challenge, explore and set new benchmarks in innovation, research, and social change.

Not just for today. But for tomorrow too.

Now we’re investing in 100 new Westpac Scholars every year, forever. To actively contribute to a better, fairer and more inclusive Australia – for everyone.


The Westpac Scholars Ltd Board is based in Sydney, Australia. The Board is dedicated to identifying, educating and promoting those who can lead Australia in the way we progress technology, social issues and our standing with Asia.

Dave Curran


Professor Barney Glover AO


Edwina McCann


Carolyn McCann


Jon Nicholson


Deborah Terry AO



The National Selection Panel comprises senior industry and academic leaders responsible for the final selection of Westpac Research Fellows and Future Leader Scholars. Through the rigorous selection process, the Panel is dedicated to recruiting Australia's best and brightest leaders, innovators and pioneers from all walks of life.

Filter by

Professor Larissa Behrendt (2016)

Professor of Indigenous Research and Director of Research at the Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning at the University of Technology – Academic category

Professor Aidan Byrne (2016 - 2020)

Provost, The University of Queensland

Philip Coffey (2015 - 2020)

NED - Lendlease, Macquarie Group and Clean Energy Finance Corporation

Professor Suzanne Cory AC (2015, 2016)

Laboratory Head, The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute

Professor Andy Dong (2015)

Warren Centre Chair for Engineering Innovation, Faculty of Engineering and IT, University of Sydney

Professor Nicholas Farrelly (2015 - 2020)

Head of Social Sciences, University of Tasmania

Professor Sandra Harding (2015, 2017)

Vice Chancellor and President, James Cook University

Professor G.Q. Max Lu (2015)

Provost and Senior Vice President, The University of Queensland

Helen Lynch AM (2015, 2016)

Director, Westpac Scholars Trust

Professor Tessa Morris Suzuki (2015, 2016)

Professor of Japanese History, School of Culture, History and Language, Australian National University

Professor John Shine AC (2015, 2016, 2018)

President Australian Academy of Science, Professor of Medicine and Professor of Molecular Biology, University of NSW, and Chairman, CSL Limited

David Thodey AO (2015, 2016, 2020)

Chairman, CSIRO

Dr Angie Kings-Lynne (2016)

Westpac Future Leaders Scholarship Program Ambassador

Dr Heather Smith PSM (2016 - 2020)

Secretary of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science, Australian Government

Jon Nicholson (2016 - 2019)

Director, Westpac Scholars Trust

Professor Edwina Cornish AO (2016, 2019)

Former Provost and Senior Vice-President, Monash University

Professor Tanya Monro (2017, 2018)

Deputy Vice Chancellor Research and Innovation, University of South Australia

Deena Shiff (2017)

Chairman BAI Communications

Professor Judy Raper (2017, 2018)

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation – University of Wollongong

Professor Ian Smith (2017, 2018)

Vice-Provost (Research & Research Infrastructure), Monash University

Ann Sherry AO (2018)

Chairman of Carnival Australia

Professor Marnie Hughes-Warrington (2019)

Professor of History, the Australian National University

Professor Veena Sahajwalla (2019)

Founding Director of the Centre for Sustainable Materials Research and Technology (SMaRT) at UNSW

Assoc Professor Elizabeth (Liz) New

2016 Westpac Research Fellow, University of Sydney

Dave Curran (2018 - 2020)

Chairman, Westpac Scholars Trust

Professor Elanor Huntington (2020)

Dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Science, Australian National University

Professor Kerri-Lee Krause (2020)

Director, Westpac Scholars Trust; Deputy Vice-Chancellor Student Life and Deputy Provost, University of Melbourne

Professor Jacqueline Lo (2020)

Pro Vice-Chancellor (International), University of Adelaide


Founding partners

  • The University of Melbourne
    The University of Melbourne
  • The University of Sydney
  • University of Wollongong


  • Queensland University of Technology
  • The University of Adelaide
  • The Australian National University
  • Monash University
  • The University of Queensland
  • RMIT University
  • UNSW
  • The University of Western Australia
  • Murdoch University
  • Western Sydney University
  • University of Tasmania